What are the steps to inspect a parking deck?

Following the collapse of certain parking lots in Quebec, notably in 2005, 2008 and 2009, Law 122 concerning the inspection of parking lots was introduced. This inspection is a task carried out by expert engineers; and it takes into account a certain number of well-defined steps. It should be noted that following the various accidents that have already occurred, the Quebec authorities are meticulous about the application of law 122. Find out what it is and what are the steps involved in the inspection of parking garages.

 

Law 122 and parking garages: what is the relationship?

 

The inspection of parking lots has become a requirement since Law 122. This law stipulates that all regulated infrastructures with underground or overhead parking facilities where at least one of the running surfaces does not rest on the ground must be checked and maintained periodically. They must undergo a general inspection every 5 years and routine checks every year. The persons to whom this law applies are:

 

  • Homeowners

  • Co-owners

  • Syndicates of co-ownerships

  • Occupants

  • Users

 

General inspections must be performed by building experts who hold a professional or engineering designation. They are required to prepare a (well-developed) parking deck inspection report.

In addition, infrastructure that is considered unsafe should not wait 5 years before undergoing a general inspection. They should be inspected as soon as possible.

 

The steps of the annual inspection

 

The annual inspection is simple. It can be done by an owner. The owner should ensure that the annual reports are kept in a logbook designed to show the good condition of the parking structure. Each report will include dated photos to report on the condition of the infrastructure and a completed form in annexe 1 of the regulations.

General Inspection Stages

The general inspection, which takes place every 5 years, is divided into 4 stages.

Stage 1: Visual inspection:

During the first stage of the general inspection, the professionals will first analyze the existing documents and information available about the parking structure. They will identify any issues that have been determined through previous inspections and will be informed of any work that has been done on the infrastructure.

 

In the terrain, they will visually inspect elements such as beams, columns, structural slabs, and membrane. The purpose of the visual inspection will be to identify areas where the concrete is degraded, cracked areas, the condition of the membranes and any other problems that may exist there.

Step 2: Destructive testing and analysis

If the visual inspection reveals the presence of anomalies on the infrastructure, the destructive test aims at finding the causes. The engineers then proceed to the development of certain tests. To do this, they will take different concrete samples from the structural slabs. These tests are essential in order to identify more precisely the elements that are responsible for the deterioration of the construction materials. They are obviously done in the laboratory and will therefore serve to determine the quality of the concrete and the salt content at different depths. Deteriorated concrete is often contaminated by chloride ions (at a high rate), by carbonation or by sulfate contamination due to humidity.

Step 3: Non-destructive testing

As the name implies, non-destructive testing does not involve taking any samples. They are simply performed to obtain additional information. The professionals will then proceed to detect defects (conduits, reinforcement or delamination). They will also check the drainage and the reinforcement elements of the columns.

Step 4: Preparation of the inspection report

As mentioned above, the inspection report is written by the engineer in charge of the inspection. It can be divided into three parts: observations, comments and conclusions. Each of these parts must meet very specific standards.

 

The observation part, of course, contains the results of the visual analysis and tests. In the comments, the professional will identify the defects in the concrete and estimate the extent of the damage. Finally, the conclusion includes the expert report and the nature of the recommended interventions.

 

The report enables us to judge to what extent the parking lot is a danger for the people who live near it.

 

What happens if the parking structures are in dangerous conditions?

 

If a parking deck has defects that could expose users to danger in any way, the person in charge of the infrastructure is obliged to notify the Régie du bâtiment du Québec. Naturally, the implementation of emergency measures is what follows. Within one month, descriptions of the corrective work to be done must be provided and carried out in an effective manner. Once the work is completed, the person in charge will have to obtain a verification report that must also be sent to the Régie.

Quelles sont les étapes d'inspection d'un espace de stationnement étagé?

Suite à l’effondrement de certains sites de stationnements au Québec, notamment en 2005, en 2008 et en 2009, la loi 122 concernant l’inspection des stationnements a été instaurée. Cette inspection est une tâche exécutée par des experts-ingénieurs ; et elle prend en compte un certain nombre d’étapes bien définies. Il faut préciser que suite aux différents accidents déjà survenus, les autorités québécoises sont méticuleuses sur l’application de la loi 122. Découvrez de quoi il s’agit et quelles sont les étapes de l’inspection des stationnements étagés.

 

Loi 122 et stationnement étagé : quel rapport?

 

L’inspection des parcs de stationnement est devenue une obligation depuis la loi 122. Cette loi stipule que toutes les infrastructures assujetties dotées d’un stationnement souterrain ou aérien dont au moins une surface de roulement ne repose pas sur le sol doivent être vérifiées et entretenues périodiquement. Ils doivent être soumis à une inspection générale tous les 5 ans et à des vérifications de routine chaque année. Les personnes à qui s’adresse cette loi sont :

 

• les propriétaires ;

• les copropriétaires ;

• les syndicats de copropriétés ;

• les occupants ;

• les utilisateurs.

 

Les inspections générales doivent être effectuées par des experts en bâtiments qui détiennent un titre professionnel ou d’ingénieurs. Ces derniers sont tenus de rédiger un rapport (bien élaboré) d’inspection de parc de stationnement étagé.

En outre, les infrastructures jugées dangereuses ne doivent pas attendre 5 ans avant d’être soumises à une inspection générale. Elles doivent l’être le plus tôt possible.

 

Les étapes de l’inspection annuelle

 

L’inspection annuelle est plutôt simple. Un propriétaire peut à lui seul l’exécuter. Il doit alors faire en sorte d’archiver les rapports annuels dans un registre destiné à présenter l’étape de santé du parc de stationnement étagé. Chaque rapport comportera des photos bien datées qui serviront à rendre compte des conditions des infrastructures et une fiche remplie en annexe 1 des règlements.

Les étapes de l’inspection générale

 

L’inspection générale qui a lieu tous les 5 ans est divisée en 4 étapes.

 

Étape 1 : l’inspection visuelle


Pendant la première étape de l’inspection générale, les professionnels vont d’abord analyser les documents déjà existants et les informations disponibles au sujet du parc de stationnement étagé. Ils recenseront ainsi les problèmes déjà soulevés à travers les précédentes inspections et ils seront informés de tous les travaux qui auraient été effectués sur les infrastructures.

 

Sur le terrain, ils procéderont à une inspection visuelle des éléments tels que les poutres, les colonnes, les dalles structurales, la membrane. Le but de l’inspection visuelle sera de relever les parties où le béton est dégradé, les zones fissurées, l’état des membranes ainsi que tous les autres problèmes qui pourraient exister sur le terrain.

 

Étape 2 : les tests destructifs et les analyses

Si l’inspection visuelle rend compte de la présence d’anomalies sur les infrastructures, le test destructif vise plutôt à y trouver des causes. Les ingénieurs passent alors à l’élaboration de certains tests. Pour cela, ils vont prélever différents échantillons de béton dans les dalles structurales. Ces tests sont indispensables afin de repérer plus précisément, les éléments qui sont responsables de la détérioration des matériaux de construction. Ils se font évidemment au laboratoire et serviront donc à déterminer la qualité du béton et la teneur en sel selon différents niveaux de profondeur. Le béton détérioré est souvent contaminé par des ions chlorure (à un taux élevé), par carbonatation ou par contamination au sulfate, dû à l’humidité.

Étape 3 : les tests non destructifs

 

Comme leur nom l’indique, les tests non destructifs n'impliquent pas le prélèvement d’un quelconque échantillon. Ils sont simplement effectués afin d’obtenir des informations supplémentaires. Les professionnels vont alors procéder à des détections de défaut (conduits, armature ou délamination). Ils vont également vérifier le drainage et les éléments de renforcement des colonnes.

Étape 4 : l’élaboration du rapport d’inspection

 

Comme précisé plus haut, le rapport d’inspection est rédigé par l’ingénieur chargé de l’inspection. Il peut être découpé en trois parties : les observations, les commentaires et les conclusions. Chacune de ces parties doit respecter des normes très précises.

 

L’observation restitue bien sûr les résultats d’analyse visuelle et des tests. Dans les commentaires, le professionnel va identifier les défauts dont souffre le béton et estimer l'étendue des dégâts. Enfin, la conclusion inclut le rapport d’expertise et la nature des interventions recommandées.

 

Le rapport permet donc de juger à quel point le parc de stationnement étagé constitue un danger pour les personnes qui le côtoient.

Que se passe-t-il si les infrastructures de stationnements étagées sont dans des conditions jugées dangereuses?

 

Si un stationnement étagé comporte des défauts susceptibles de mettre les usagers en danger d’une quelconque manière, le responsable des infrastructures se voit dans l’obligation d’avertir la Régie du bâtiment du Québec. Naturellement, la mise en place des mesures d’urgence est ce qui va suivre. Dans un délai d’un mois, il faudra fournir des descriptions concernant les travaux de correction à faire et les réaliser de façon effective. Une fois les travaux terminés, le responsable devra obtenir un rapport de vérification qu’il faut également envoyer à la régie.